Rewind | BREATHE | Fast Forward

29 03 2013

Time outI’m about to impart a bit of Zen wisdom here. Buddha pose is optional.

Some of us live in the past; we usually call that “baggage.” (Sorry, past dwellers.)

Some of us live in the future; we often label that “forward thinking.” (Don’t toot your horn just yet, “to-be”ers.)

But in between rewinding to memories of what’s already been, and racing into events that have yet to be, there’s where we exist now: the present.

Now, there’s a time and a place for all three branches of living – past, present, and future. And I’m not going to go all “A Christmas Carol” on you in this blog. But entrepreneurs are a notoriously driven bunch – mulling intensely over past actions before surging ahead into future plans.

So today, on the brink of a holiday weekend, I feel compelled to share a little bit of well-worn wisdom that we all lose track of at some point or another:

PAUSE.

So simple. So essential.

A pause can be a vacation, a rare luxury for an entrepreneur, but it can also be as simple as sitting quietly for a few moments – mind parked in neutral – between activities. During those moments, you’re neither fretting over the previous activity, nor puzzling out the next.

You are simply existing.

If emptying your mind feels like a goliath undertaking, try focusing your attention on something instead – your thumb, an elbow, your breath… something completely innocuous.

You don’t need to be a yogi to work this technique. You just have to be human.

What’s the point? Well, I’ll be a monkey’s uncle if it doesn’t give you a chance to catch your breath, stop frantic thoughts, stimulate mental clarity, and/or help you keep things in perspective.

A few moments. Really. Please try it, and let me know how it works for you.

“Don’t just do something — Sit there!”  ~Anon.

Dawn M. Tomczyk-Bhajan  |  DMT Artistry, LLC   |  www.DMTArtistry.com

All content Copyright © 2013 DMT Artistry, LLC, unless otherwise noted. All Rights Reserved.

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 03 2013
Andrea S

Profound ideas are born in still places I’ve found. Nice post.

30 03 2013
Fred

I took your advice and for the last hour simply sat and let my mind float. No iPad. No iPhone. No laptop. No TV. No radio. No book, magazine or newspaper. Just me, a quiet room and my thoughts about nothing (men can go to a “Nothing Place” you know).

So, what did I discover?

First, I actually felt a bit refreshed. I felt as though I’d recovered a little energy.

Second, I felt at ease. I felt for that brief moment no cares in the world. No worries about the past. No concerns about the future.

Third, I felt grateful. Grateful that I took your advice. Grateful for being alive.

I definitely have to put aside time on a regular basis to visit my “Nothing Place.” I think there is something very important in doing this.

Thanks for the great blog.

Leave a Reply

