Twinkies on the Brain: A Mind-Nourishing Experiment

4 11 2013

TwinkiesAfter years of reading fluff and watching Netflix with breakfast, I came to the realization that my morning brain fodder had achieved the enrichment equivalent of a pack of Twinkies.

Common belief dictates that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. What you put in your body post-snooze has a mighty impact on how you feel and operate the remainder of your waking hours. Those who know me well also know that my diet would impress the sporty socks off of Jillian Michaels. But my mental nourishment? Pathetic.

And I got to thinking about this intake imbalance – why would I make the effort to eat for energy, all the while prepping my brain to operate at the level of a remedial kindergartener? At best, I’d expect to be hyper and extremely unproductive.

So, to test a personal hypothesis, I decided to start my days off  with good eats AND good thinks. Instead of filler fiction and The Office reruns, I am launching every morning with smarty-pants stimuli, like philosophical readings, memory research, and TED Talks. I hypothesized that this would make me more effective, more efficient, and more creative throughout the day.

Not being all that scientific about it, I’ve failed to create control groups, track measurable results, and do other proof-providing activities. But with a couple months under my belt, I note here – unapologetically – that I FEEL more productive.

Power of the mind, baby. Sometimes that’s all it takes to create a new reality! (To the science-minded among you: please reserve scoffing until after you try it for yourself.)

What do you think? Would you be willing to run a 1-week trial of trading in morning Facebook, news, or popular T.V. for something that challenges your brain to stretch and strengthen? What would you use to bolster A.M. brain growth? If you try it, let me know what happens! We can be brain buddies and swap lists of our favorite brain breakfasts!

Want some ideas to start you off? Here are a few of my recent morning mind munchies:

 

“The mind is not a vessel to be filled, but a fire to be kindled.”  ~ Plutarch

Dawn M. Tomczyk-Bhajan  |  DMT Artistry, LLC

All content Copyright © 2013 DMT Artistry, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

